East Dakota Quilter

Marcelle Medallion: Nearly Complete!

2 Comments

My poor sister. I have been staying with her the past few months during a geographical transition, and she has had to put up with fabric scraps all over our apartment for weeks! It all started when I saw the Marcelle Medallion quilt on a few blogs.

marcelle medallion in liberty love, via craftprowler

Within the month, I bought a copy of the book Liberty Love by Alexia Marcelle Abegg that features the quilt. I was actually looking for a copy of the UK magazine Love Quilting & Patchwork, which has the quilt as its cover star, but it was sold out everywhere! (I finally located a copy of the magazine a month after starting the quilt.)

love quilting and patchwork

Both Liberty Love and Love Quilting & Patchwork have several other projects I want to try. I usually do not follow patterns or tutorials (not even for piecing my Sampler Quilt), so that’s saying a lot. Happy to have BOTH!

medallion love via craftprowler

Since my last post about the Marcelle Medallion quilt, I’ve added additional borders. I can’t say I have found piecing them as “addictive” as some other bloggers described. I am too impatient! What I find addictive is seeing the new borders finished and added. It’s turning me into a bit of an antisocial monster. Good thing the center was the most difficult portion; the rest has been going pretty smoothly.

marcelle medallion center by craftprowler

marcelle medallion border 2 via craftprowler

This is one busy quilt! But I do like having so many different things to look at in a single quilt top. I also like that I was able to incorporate little pieces of so many past projects, including Lotta Jansdotter’s Bella line from a baby quilt I’m working on, lots of greens and purples from my Mardi Gras quiet book, some red-and-whites from a new quilt that’s percolating, and random reds, aquas, and yellows from the quilt I use now.

marcelle medallion border 2 by craftprowler

By Border 4, my measurements were a little off. (Alexia warns of this in the pattern, so it’s not a big deal.) My quilt ran short, so I just removed one triangle from each side. Now I’m back on track.

marcelle medallion border 5 by craftprowler

My Marcelle Medallion involves a number of firsts for me:

  • It is the first quilt I have made from a pattern;
  • I made my first [successful] Y-seams (I tried to use them in my first-ever quilt – HA!);
  • This was the first time I made flying geese;
  • It was also the first time I sewed triangles (other than HSTs); and
  • It was my first large project that includes at least 50% scrap fabric from my stash.
2 thoughts on “Marcelle Medallion: Nearly Complete!

  1. Your quilt looks gorgeous! I’m so impressed. I’m not confident to try something so elaborate yet but want to use the pattern to attempt a Marcelle Plus Quilt, as seen on the Film In The Fridge blog – she’s adapted the cross borders to make an entire quilt, it looks wonderful.

    I want to thank you for sharing the details of this pattern’s appearance in Love Patchwork and Quilting magazine. I was able to get a copy from the Apple store for $6.50 rather than buying the book from Amazon for $20 plus postage to Australia. If anyone else is after the digital download, you can’t get this issue via the Love Patchwork and Quilting app, you have to download the Cross Stitcher app and look in the Specials section.

    • Thanks so much for the kind words, Kate! With each new quilt I start, I try to challenge myself to use at least one new technique. I went from sewing only squares to curved lines, applique, paper piecing, y-seams… all in less than a year. You can do it, too! Thanks also for the info about buying Love Patchwork & Quilting. The most recent edition has a pattern for the plus quilt from BijouLovely if you want to compare tutorials.

Leave a Reply

