East Dakota Quilter

Frozen Queue & Anna Block

2 Comments

You might be wondering why, although I have only two sides left to bind on my Marcelle Medallion quilt, it’s still not finished. Good question. I already posted that I took a break to finish a doll in time for a little girl’s birthday party last weekend, but I also have a new quilt block to share today:

Anna Frozen block by EastDakotaQuilter

This is Anna from the movie Frozen. I still have to embroider her nose and white hair streak, but I am excited by how well it turned out! The pattern is free on Craftsy and was drafted by Sew Much Mischief. You can see her blog post about this block here. Of course, it only made sense that I would buy the movie soundtrack and listen to it on repeat while sewing this block!

I made a couple of changes. I enlarged the block to be 12.5″ unfinished (12″ finished) so I can pair it with some snowflake blocks that are the same size. Considering how small the pieces were for her eyes, I’m doubly glad I made that adjustment! Also note the Elsa pattern as two letter M pieces; if you look at the piecing order, you’ll see right away which would should actually be an N. Finally, note that not all blocks are the same size. You may need to adjust if you plan to make a quilt with the blocks.

Anna block back by EastDakotaQuilter

Perhaps best of all is that I made this block entirely from fabrics I already owned. I got a high five from my fiancé for that! I wasn’t too sure about the hair color at first. It’s an oakshott cotton with woven threads in brown and blue, but it looks great against Anna’s purple cape. Most of the rest were various Kona fat quarters.

Sew Much Mischief also has free Craftsy patterns for Elsa, Olaf, Kristoff, and Sven. Happy sewing!

2 thoughts on “Frozen Queue & Anna Block

  1. OK, that’s cool. I’ve never really seen pictures made by quilting before. So awesome! I tried quilting once, and it was harder than I thought it would be. So, bravo!

Leave a Reply

